The spiritual side of career counseling

Do you think that career counseling is about assessment, decision-making, and strategy?

I think so. And that’s what I’m trained to do. Clients want/need help with one or more of these areas.

But is there more? Something that is not taught in graduate school courses? Creation, trust, individuality?

I think so. And many of you do, too.

Spiritual or religious counseling has gotten a scary reputation, often deservedly. Let me be clear about what it is not:

  • persuading you to see it my way,
  • embarrassing prayer sessions you don’t want,
  • reminding you of the “shoulds” in your life, thus increasing your guilt load,
  • being passive and letting God do the work,
  • suggesting that I know more than you do about your life’s direction.

What I mean by spiritual career counseling starts by getting where you are. This may mean open discussion of your spiritual beliefs and support structure or your sense of your mission. Or it may mean not going there.

Where it fits, I’d like to share my experience of using my gifts as I see them. We might find common ground.

I find that people may be hungry to share their questions about the meaning of their lives and how best to use their unique talents. This is surely a spiritual question, but we may all be afraid to phrase it like that.

As a counselor, it is my task to perceive who wants to talk about mission and who does not. Either way, I’m fine with it.

Would you like to speak with me about your quest for a meaningful life and career? Please visit my website at www.anneheadley.com for contact information. Or you can leave a comment right here.

One Response to “The spiritual side of career counseling”

  1. Marissa Says:

    I found Anne on the web, what spoke to me from her site was that she didn’t just analyze what I was or wasn’t looking for in my next job – she treated it as an art, which I appreciated. She helped me assess true areas of my interest and create tasks, focus areas and more to help me get on a path.

    She said she helped the creative person. I felt it was hard to pick one of my interests because I have a lot of them – she helped me focus and combine them.

    I have to say my favorite part about Anne was that she listened. When you think “career counselor” you may think – help me get into a career or find a job. As most job hunters know a job is an expression of who we are and what we hope to become (at least some people see their job as this). I wanted my job to be just this and Anne helped me find it.

    If there are other things going on in your life (family, relationships, move, anything) she takes it into consideration, which is smart because sometimes people make changes for different reasons.

    She is sincere and wants you to succeed. But you have to work at it also, finding your next opportunity is as much your job as it is hers to help you get there.

    I highly recommend her to help you find out what it is that interests you and what direction you want to head in your upcoming journey.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

