Fewer workers + more work = your opportunity to shine

As a career counselor, I hear it  from  burned-out employees: 

They let go three people and now I’ve inherited their jobs as well as mine.  I don’t think I can do it.

Well, that’s true if business goes on as it did.  You did not suddenly become a party of four.

Now is your chance, though, to shine as an innovative, willing, flexible, valuable worker.  It’s time to schedule a meeting with the boss. Your points to make:

  • I have a few thoughts about our priorities, as I’m sure you do, too.
  • Clients/customers are changing in their habits/needs/questions.
  • Although our turn-around time may have to be lengthened, we can improve our overall customer service by …

I hope you get the idea.  Although the characteristics of your job are unique to you, the opportunity exists for all employed people to shine, learn new skills, and expand their horizons in these challenging times.

What is not on the list for your meeting with your supervisor?

  • Whining,
  • I can’t do this,
  • It isn’t fair,
  • Why me?
  • I’m stressed and I need to get out of here.

What is your immediate goal?  I hope it is to keep your job.  Ask your unemployed friends – it’s a rotten time to be job-hunting.  They would join me in urging you to work harder and smarter at your job, to contribute possible solutions instead of complaints, and emerge from this in a stronger position to move ahead when the recession is over.

If you would like to talk with a career counselor about your situation and how to make the most of it, feel free to contact me by visiting my website at www.anneheadley.com.

One Response to “Fewer workers + more work = your opportunity to shine”

  1. Artie Says:

    I feel this pressure with budget cuts and not hiring more help. I am doing the work of 3 people some days. And I work a part time job. It gets stressful at times. I admit.

Leave a Reply

