Staying hopeful in tough times

When you feel that:

  • nothing works,
  • nobody’s hiring,
  • my skills are out of date,
  • no one wants to network with me,
  • I never get a break,

how do you keep going?  How do you dust yourself off, throw cold water on your face, tell yourself to grow up and stop whining?

Whatever your answer is to that question, it’s important that you have an answer.  Because if you stay in that mindset, you become that self-fulfilling prophecy – a failure.

Harsh but true.

Because the sun will come out tomorrow, tomorrow is another day, and a new opportunity is right around the corner. Revoltingly cheerful, but success belongs to those who go out to meet it on the road.  Yes, there is truth in all those cliches.

This pep talk is dedicated to A, a faithful reader who is down in spirits and feels that nothing works.  He feels he has exhausted all his possibilities.

Sorry, my friend, I don’t share your conclusions.  And I am concerned that you are mired in sameness.

Idea! Get yourself a copy of John Krumboltz’s book, Luck is no Accident.  It’s a primer in changing your circumstances to maximize the luck factor, which of course, you are creating for yourself.  When I leaf through that book, I’m reminded that each day has more opportunities than I can realize to make an impression, to show a skill or two, to make a name for myself.

A, read it and tell me what you think.  The same for the rest of you.

Leave a Reply

