The Career Boogeyman

What keeps you awake at night?

When I was unemployed or employed in unsatisfying places, I remember well that it was that dark-of-the-night anxiety in which the worst thoughts came to me:

  • I’ll never get another job,
  • Maybe this is the best I can do,
  • Why did I ever think I could do better?
  • Some people get all the breaks (and I’m not one of them).

And I certainly didn’t have a career counselor, nor did I even know one.

Today, I am that career counselor.  And now my anxiety might be more about getting ready to speak at a conference, unfinished business with a client, or just plain worry about a friend or relative. I find solace in revisiting my former worries and answering them from today’s perspective:

  • I’ll never get another job, but I don’t really need one.  I can shape this one.
  • Maybe this is the best I can do. ARE YOU KIDDING?
  • Why did I ever think I could do better? Some long-buried source of confidence has always existed in me, and now I can tap into it.
  • Some people get all the breaks (and I’m not one of them). Okay, I need to get out there and create my own good luck.

What keeps you up at night?  How has that answer changed in a decade or so?

2 Responses to “The Career Boogeyman”

  1. SAL Says:

    Needed to read this–thank you! Also, are you on Facebook (I should look:)? I think you would reach a lot of people that way.

  2. anneheadley Says:

    You’re welcome, SAL. I’m glad it was timely for you. No, I’m not on Facebook. I just dread another drain on my time.

Leave a Reply

