Archive for March 7th, 2011

Sorry or safe? You call it

March 7, 2011

The old adage is Better Safe than Sorry.

The challenge from WordPress is Better Sorry than Safe.

I think that’s something to consider in workplace situations.

Better Safe than Sorry:

  • staying in a job you’re bored with,
  • putting up with abuse from co-workers,
  • keeping quiet when someone steals your ideas and claims them,
  • not mentioning ethical violations when you see them.

Better Sorry than Safe:

  • going on that interview even thought it wasn’t followed by an offer,
  • speaking up for a friend being taken advantage of by someone else,
  • confronting incompetence or dishonesty,
  • changing your college major from a safe bet to something that really inspires you.

Yes, I agree.  I picked examples that prove the point.  And you could develop a list to prove the opposite – so could I.

Still, the next time I’m on the brink of quoting that old adage to a young person, I’ll stop myself and ask if I really believe it.

