What do you wish you could do?

What capability do you wish you had?  What talent has passed you by?

Can you imagine being asked this in a job interview?

Try preparing yourself for an answer, something beyond the capability of sleeping all day.  Even worse would be there’s nothing I can’t do already.  Yuck

Remember, you want to be truthful, impressive, willing to learn, and active.  Here are a few suggestions:

  • I wish I could carry a tune.  It’s embarrassing at the ball park when I’m inspired to sing the national anthem.
  • I wish I had a better sense of direction.  When driving to a new place, I need directions, maps, and lots of help.
  • I wish I understood more about science.  I read articles, trying to make up for all the daydreaming I did in biology and chemistry classes.

By the way, these wishes are not all mine.  I can carry a tune.

Maybe the best way is to relate the lack to the present job opportunity and why it appeals to you.

  • I used to be timid about public speaking, thinking I just wasn’t any good at it.  Then I joined Toastmasters and learned a few techniques.  I realized that when I have something to convey, I am really helping my audience learn something they need to know.  That’s why conducting employee orientation is appealing to me, and I look forward to the chance.

What about you?  Are there capabilities that you lack that would be relevant to the discussion in a job interview?  How would you answer that question?

2 Responses to “What do you wish you could do?”

  1. i.heart.hk Says:

    What I wish I could do? I wish I could go every single day ’till the day I die without getting angry at people. Sounds simple, doesn’t it? Unfortunately, almost not a day goes by without me getting angry (I mean really angry) at least once, at least at one person. Living in China, unfortunately, it is usually more than once and more than at one person…

  2. anneheadley Says:

    That’s quite a goal you set for yourself! It sounds as though you live in frustrating conditions. That being said, it’s a great goal for the rest of the world, no matter where we are. Thank you very much for posting your comment. Keep reading!

Leave a Reply

