Early job interviews

Do you remember your first/second/third job interview?  I barely do.  Maybe since the jobs were not memorable, why would I care how I got them?

My memories become much clearer when the interviews were for things that I realized I wanted very much.  Here’s one memory:

I had had a series of short-term positions doing conference and event planning.  That’s something I’m good at, but I don’t particularly like.  I hate that when something goes wrong, you get all the blame.  I remember the frustration of other people not doing their parts, being on my feet for hours, and other really bad parts.  Yes, it was exciting, and yes, it was a job, but I was never sorry when the event was over.

After those jobs, I realized that I had to get back on track and stop saying yes to jobs just because I was offered them.

I noticed an ad in the newspaper for a volunteer position with the YWCA Career Center in Annapolis, MD.  Wow !  Isn’t that what I had wanted to do for a long time?  Isn’t that what I had trained for?  For the first time, an interview really mattered.  Shakily, I called the contact number and talked to the director of the career program.  She was gracious, welcoming, and eager to set up a meeting as soon as possible.  I drove the requisite hour to get there, had a wonderful meeting, and was offered the chance to meet with clients, lead workshops, and work as many days as I could.   When I learned there was a stipend available to help with the expense of driving, I was ecstatic.  My volunteer stint there turned into a paid job and I worked happily there for six years or so.  That was in many ways the best job of my life.

As to what was discussed, I don’t remember.  I do recall the cordiality, the friendliness, and how welcome I felt.  They thanked me for coming!

On those few occasions where an interview just flows, you know something special is going on.  It’s not that you always get the job, but I believe that rapport is a huge clue that things are going well.

I hope every reader has a memory of the interview that was an indicator of the joy that was to come.

2 Responses to “Early job interviews”

  1. Maureen Anderson Says:

    I’ll never forget my first job interview. I had lied on the application and said I was sixteen when I was fifteen. This story had a happy ending, though…

    http://www.thecareerclinic.com/component/content/article/22/68-earn-your-keep

    • anneheadley Says:

      Readers, this is a very cute story of what a teen-ager recognizes as a compliment. Follow Maureen’s link to her blog. But do it after you leave your own memory of an interview if you like.

Leave a Reply

