Stating the Obvious

Like so many, I made time to watch bits of Oprah Winfrey’s farewell show yesterday.  Like Oprah and her audience, I, too, teared up a bit from time to time.  Why?

I think what Oprah did so brilliantly was to state the obvious.  We are better than we act sometimes.  We all deserve love and recognition.  We don’t always get it.  We should eat better and exercise more.  And celebrities are sometimes fun to watch, although that part of her record is the boring part to me.  I don’t really care about who is starring in a movie that I probably won’t see anyway.

I do care a lot about who learns to listen to oneself, and that’s why Oprah, at her best, is a career counselor.

Sometimes I’m embarrassed to admit that what I really do is listen, LISTEN to people. who will eventually tell me what they have always wanted to do.  And then it’s my job to help that person reach at least some of that long-desired goal.

Sometimes I need to point out that as far as I know, Congress has not passed a law stating that everyone but (your name here) may have life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.  So go for it.  Put me out of business.

No, wait.  Listen to Oprah about being your own best person.  And then contact me to learn the tools to be that person.

Thank you, Oprah, for stating the obvious.  We all need to hear it.

Leave a Reply

