Do you volunteer?

Here’s an interview question that I’m delighted to address.
When you are asked about volunteer work in an interview, how about this to reflect the reality of these tough times:
When I was laid off a year ago, I quickly realized that it was going to take time to find a great fit in the next position.  So I got involved in Habitat for Humanity because I’ve always been pretty good with a hammer and nails.  Not only did I have the satisfaction of repairing a home for a deserving family, I gained invaluable insight and understanding about how the economy affects basic survival.  Even after I’m employed full-time, I plan to continue some kind of involvement with Habitat, because I share that passion for making things better one step at a time.
Wouldn’t you take another look at such a candidate?
Have you done volunteer work recently?  Can you tie it to your work experience and your expectations for getting a job?
2 Responses to “Do you volunteer?”

  1. Arleen Bradley Says:

    I never heard that one before, I’m glad you brought it to light. Volunteering is great for you on many levels. It makes you feel like you have made a difference in someone’s life. You can add it to your resume. And the best of all is that you are working with so many terrific people; one may end up being your next boss or co-worker.

Leave a Reply

