Are you lucky? Save it for the interview.

A colleague recently told me that she had heard that the latest, trendiest interview question is this:  Are you lucky?

Yes? No?Maybe?

I actually love this question, because it gives you the opportunity to reveal your gifted self.

Sample answers:

Yes!

I’ve been lucky enough to work with some great people, and together we have accomplished a lot.  For instance…

I was raised in a family that valued education.  Books were the main source of entertainment, and …

The most recent luck was when a neighbor, who knew I was jobhunting, mentioned this opening.

No!

I don’t really believe in luck.  I believe in hard work, learning by doing, including making mistakes.  I am a good communicator, and I am committed to seeking help when I need it.

I’m not sure what you mean by luck.  I think we create that thing called luck by putting ourselves in a position to take advantage of opportunities.  But no, Lady Luck has not come calling recently.

Maybe!

By luck, do you mean coincidence?  I’ve had plenty of that, often through being in a place where like-minded people can be found.  At the college job fair, I struck up a conversation with….

I was chatting with a friend, who said she liked something I had written and would like to help promote it.  Was that luck?  Well, it wouldn’t have happened if I hadn’t sent her the copy.

What about you – are you lucky?  And are you ready to answer that question in an interview?

Leave a Reply

